发挥创意时间

哈佛和耶鲁大学的校友Craig Woehrle是一位经过认证的聪明人,他对物质世界一二知。 从担任Surface Lab首席设计师到开发自己的用于装饰墙面的精美3D纹理图案系列,克雷格(Craig)花费了多年的时间来专注于参数化系统和数字制造。 从他的工作室对萨利什海的看法中汲取灵感……这位表面化的专家经常将水的品质(例如运动和重复)运用到他不断发展的工艺上!

D.LAB

PATTERNINE, CRAIG WOEHRLE

您在寻找灵感的地方有哪些令人惊讶?

这也许令人惊讶,也可能并不令人惊讶,但是我从水的许多品质中汲取了很多灵感。 我们非常关注景观学校的人流模式,因此我的工作室可以俯瞰Salish Sea,这是我的荣幸。 我来这里已有4年了,但我仍然在水中寻找新的图案来激发我的设计工作。

您是否在练习新形式(材料)的实验?

最近,我一直在探索铸造高性能混凝土的效率。 这与产生可能会从MDF或固体表面切出的形态学图案的思维和工作方式背道而驰。 我可以在由重复零件组成的设计中实现不可重复的外观吗? 这是我的具体问题。

您认为最大的阻碍是什么?

在没有员工干部的情况下经营小企业的必要中断。 为了估算从项目估算到购买耗材,维护机器,安排货运和缴纳税款等所有工作,有很多方法需要循环。 这些任务大多数与我的创意活动不兼容。 我以为这很普遍,但假设这可能是我连线的方式的特殊之处。

有什么建议可为正在寻求更多幸福的创意者提供服务?

至少通过以下两种方式来尊重您的创造力:

节省时间-每天都能展望创意时间,而不会分散注意力,这会使您摆脱这种放松的心态。
产生一些东西-最初的产品看似微不足道,就像在创作期间冒出来的陈旧的素描本条目一样。 我发现,通过记录这些想法来验证这些想法会在那段专用时间之外增加创造性思维,因此,我大部分时间都会在我身上留下素描本和喜爱的几支钢笔。 回顾几十年来的想法很有趣。 通常,这些草图中的想法会以某种方式进入现实世界,无论是雕刻的墙构图还是院子里的火坑休息区。

到目前为止,您觉得从谁中学到的最多?

一个70岁的朋友和良师益友。 他是第二代工具和模具制造商,也是杰出的发明家。 他拥有数十项专利,其中包括对天才进行重新构思的内燃机,这很可能会改变世界。 在他所做的所有事情中,他很友善地帮助我建立了商店和机器。 他是名副其实的机加工和材料知识维基百科。 没有他的帮助,我不知道Patternine会在哪里。 我想命名吗?

您认为真正被低估的一种材料是什么?

这听起来有些平凡,但我绝对喜欢坚实的表面。 从50年代到90年代的发明开始,人们就知道它并将其主要用作住宅台面材料。 我们有一所中世纪房屋,设计于60年代初期,遍布整个地方。 如果您只想用它,那就有更好的新材料。 烧结的瓷器和人造石可以更好地保持住,但它们不能像实心表面那样进行翻转。 坚固的表面是我所知道的唯一可以轻松雕刻,热成型,隐形接缝和从后面照亮的建筑材料。 很棒的东西。

谁是目前游戏中最好的?

我想我不能说出一个人的名字,但是设计学校似乎正在从他们的学生那里产生越来越好的图案和流程工作。

您认为设计行业在哪里仍有增长空间?

大规模定制装饰元素,从带有CNC刻槽机的定制图案墙到带有CNC织机的定制地毯和纺织品。 已经完成了,但我认为还有很大的发展空间。

菜单

Carving out creative time

Harvard and Yale alumnus, Craig Woehrle, is a certified smart guy who knows a thing or two about the material world. From his time as a Surface Lab lead designer, to the development of his very own collection of sophisticated 3D textured patterns for decorative wall cladding, Craig has spent years honing his focus in parametric systems and digital fabrication. Drawing inspiration from his studio’s view of the Salish Sea… this surfacing savant often applies the qualities of water, such as movement and repetition, to his ever-evolving craft!

D.LAB

PATTERNINE, CRAIG WOEHRLE

What are some surprising places you look for inspiration?

This may or may not be surprising but I draw a lot of inspiration from the many qualities of water. We focused a lot on patterns of flow in landscape school so it’s a blessing that my studio overlooks the Salish Sea. I’ve been here for 4 years and I’m still finding new patterns in the water to inspire my design work.

Have you been experimenting with new forms in your practice (materials)?

Recently I’ve been exploring the efficiencies of casting high performance concrete. This is a departure from the modes of thinking and working that produce morphological patterns that one might cut from MDF, or solid surface. Can I achieve the appearance of non-repeatability in a design, composed of repeating parts? This is my concrete question.

What do you feel is the biggest block to your creativity?

The necessary disruptions of running a small business without a cadre of employees. There are a lot of gears to cycle through in an effort to stay up on everything from estimating projects to purchasing consumables and maintaining machines to scheduling freight and paying taxes. Most of these tasks are incompatible with my creative activity. I’d imagine this is common but suppose it could be a peculiarity to the way I’m wired.

Any advice to offer creatives who are looking for more happiness in their day-to-day?

Honor your creativity in at least these two ways:

  1. Carve out time- Be able to look forward, each day, to creative time without distractions that knock you out of this relaxed state of mind.
  2. Produce something- The initial product might be as seemingly insignificant as a dated sketchbook entry of thoughts that bubble up during your creative time. I’ve found that validating these ideas by recording them increases creative thoughts outside of that dedicated time, so I keep a sketchbook and favorite couple pens on me most of the time. It’s fun to look back through decades of your own ideas. Often, the ideas in these sketches find their way into the real world in some way, whether it’s a carved wall composition or a fire pit seating area in the yard.

Who do you feel you have learned the most from, so far in your career?

A 70 year old friend and mentor of sorts. He’s a 2nd generation tool and die maker and brilliant inventor. He has dozens of patents including a genius reconceptualization of the combustion engine that could very well change the world. With all that he has going on, he’s been kind enough to help set up my shop and machines. He’s a veritable Wikipedia of machining and material knowledge. I don’t know where Patternine would be without his help. Do I want to name names?

What is one material you think is really underrated?

This might sound pandering, but I absolutely love solid surface. From it’s invention in the 50’s through the 90’s it’s been known and used primarily as a residential countertop material. We have a mid-century home, designed in the early 60’s and it’s all over the place, here. There are new, better materials, if that’s all you want to do with it. Sinterized porcelain, and engineered stone hold up better but they can’t do the backflips that solid surface can. Solid surface is the only building material that I know of that can be easily carved, thermoformed, invisibly seamed AND lit from behind. It’s amazing stuff.

Who is the best in the game right now?

I don’t think I could name one person, but the design schools seem to be producing better and better pattern and flow work from their students.

Where do you think the design industry still has room to grow?

Mass customization of decorative elements from custom patterned walls with CNC routers to bespoke carpeting and textiles with CNC looms. It’s being done but I think there is lots of room to grow.

Menu